Tags

, , , , ,

Happy New Year!

Kool kat, Dots, and Lese

I asked my youngest daughter (aka Kool kat) what she wanted 2010 to be like. In her eight-year old wisdom, she said, “Not like 2009.”

Ain’t that the truth?  If ever a year needed to be relegated to the dust bin, it’s 2009.

While this year was good to me in a number of ways, it also was, well, seriously awful. I know I’m not alone in that, and I also know I’m not suffering as much as a good many people are. If you are one of those people who had or is having a really rough time, my heart goes out to you.

Goodbye 2009.

This quiz was posted on my blog last year and has recently been shared by a friend on her blog. Click the link and check it out; she’s got a great site.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before? Wrote six chapters of an in-progress novel (13,000 words!), mended my broken heart (not necessarily a first, but certainly a first in a really long time!) and bought a lot of new furniture. While it was a very busy year, not many things were “firsts.”

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions and will you make more for 2010? I can’t even find my old list of resolutions, but I do know I kept several of them. I have made more for 2010 that I do intend to keep.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes, my neice and her husband had a gorgeous daughter, Jaslynn; and a co-worker’s wife had a daughter as well.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit? None. The nomads were grounded in 2009.

6. What would you like to have more of in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? More friends, travel, and more rain.

7. What dates(s) from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory and why? None I can think of at the moment.

8. What was your biggest achievement of 2009? Overcoming heartache, successfully integrating into a new job and a new city, while still finding time to write.

9. Did you suffer illness or injury? No thankfully! **knocks on wood

10. What was the best thing you bought? Hmmmm… new furniture.

11. Whose behaviour merited celebration? My two girls, who have both made incredible strides in 2009 with their studies.

12. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? My own.

13. Where did most of your money go? See Question No. 10, and to simply living in a very expensive city.

14. What did you get really, really, really excited about? The progress I’ve made on my novel, the first song Kool kat ever composed, and the first place award for her first poem.

15. What song will always remind you of 2009? “Ordinary World,” originally performed by Duran Duran but re-mixed by a group called Red on their Innocence and Instinct CD; it is this latter version that I like best.

16. Compared to this time last year, are you: Wiser? Yes, by far      Healthier? a little         Richer? Yes.

17. What do you wish you’d done more of? Worked harder (and that encompasses a lot of things), and worked out more.

18. What do you wish you’d done less of? I wish I hadn’t cried so much, or agonised so much, and I wish I would have avoided the “comfort eating.”

19. How did you spend Christmas? I baked cookies on Christmas Eve with Kool kat, opened presents on Christmas morning, and cooked Christmas dinner.

20. Did you fall in love in 2009? No.

21. What was your favorite blog post that you wrote? This post on my regular blog and This post on my David Tennant blog.

22. What were your favorite TV programs? I don’t watch TV often but when I do, I enjoy NCIS, Dirty Jobs, and the History Channel. We don’t get Doctor Who on our cable network, so I watch it on YouTube.

23. What was the best book you read? The only book I finished in 2009 was Never Leave Me, but the best one I started (I’m half way through) is Quantum Reality by Nick Herbert. I have spent virtually all my spare time working on my novel and its research.

24. What was your greatest music discovery? Apocalyptica, Three Days Grace, and Globus.

Wow this is a long quiz!

25. What did you want and get? an awesome job.

26. What did you want and not get? Thinner and younger (ha!)

27. What was your favourite film of this year? I really, really enjoyed Gran Torino, but I don’t think it came out in 2009.

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? The girls took me out to eat at a Japanese place, but I don’t remember anything else. I’m 46 (bleh).

29. Which celebrity/public figure did you like most? still enjoy David Tennant immensely.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009? One step up from thrift store, slightly Bohemian, too much black, and a bit too redundant.

31. What kept you sane? My oldest daughter (aka Dots), my sister, and my journal.

32. Who did you miss? I miss my mother the most, and I miss some things from the past that will never be again.

33. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.  Life is all about choice. You may naysay this instantly, but honest to God, every single thing you do or don’t do is about choice – from success, failure, hate, to addiction. Choice. Think hard about it.

34. What did you gain in 2009? Courage, wisdom, and a bit too much cynicism that I’m trying to let go of.

35. What did you lose in 2009? Fear.

36. Who was the best new person you met? Byron. For giving me a chance.

37. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

…”What is happening to me? Crazy some would say. Where is the life that I recognise? Gone away. But I won’t cry for yesterday, there’s an ordinary world somehow I have to find. And as I try to make my way to the ordinary world, I will learn to survive.” [Ordinary World, Duran Duran]

May 2010 bring you prosperity, jobs, and peace. Remember,  people: hate is a choice. Choose to not hate. Happy New Year everyone!

